Welp, today is my 26th birthday. I have to face the fact that I am no longer in my early 20’s. I guess age is just a number, really, so I shouldn’t be worried about it. I always feel a bit better when older people tell me “oh, you’re still just a baby!” or “man, to be 26 again…” I’m usually not a fan of comments like that, but they keep me young in this case.

Tate and I spent the weekend at his aunt’s beach house. My brother, sister-in-law, niece and nephew spent the day with us there yesterday. It was a good day. I actually got in the water and swam! That’s not usually my cup of tea, but like Tate says, Beach Hillary is more adventurous than Regular Hillary.

Tate tried to buy me a surprise gift that I would get when we got home, but he bought it through Amazon not realizing I had set up text notifications. I don’t know when I did that or why I would set them up for his account instead of mine, but it happened. I got the first text message on Saturday.

Amazon Text

When I saw it pop up on my phone I thought it was a mistake. I was like, “wait, I didn’t buy the box set of Harry Po-ohhhhh! Birthday present!!” Poor Tate can’t win when it comes to surprising me with gifts. I tend to find out what they are before I get them. Sometimes accidentally. Usually on purpose because I’m terrible. Either way, I am now halfway through Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. This will make around the 10th time I’ve read the series, but I am so pumped to read them all again!

OMG Harry Potter!!
OMG Harry Potter!!

Then, my best friend called me to wish me a happy birthday, which isn’t unusual. What was unusual about this time was the fact that she is in Mexico and still thought to call me.

Of course I missed her call...
Of course I missed her call…

I recently deactivated my Facebook account because I got tired of all of the fake b.s. floating around in it. This means that no one knows today is my birthday, because people rely on Facebook too much. Or, it means I don’t have a lot of friends, which is also true. However, before she called me I was feeling a little sorry for myself because no one other than my parents had told me happy birthday. When she took the time to call me from Mexico, it brought home the fact that when it comes to friends, it’s all about quality, not quantity.

In my 26 years of life, I have learned many things. I have learned that my loved ones will die one day and I have to learn how to face it. I’ve learned that it is more trouble than it is worth to spend time on anything that doesn’t make you happy or a better person. And I’ve learned that those who really love you will stick by you in every situation; good or bad.

One thought on “It’s My Birthday!

What Do You Think?

